Week-end in Huaraz, Peru

During his 6-months expatriation in Peru, Rémi Schockmel shared for a week-end his life with of a local family. A few hours that will remained forever engraved.

Having lived on the Peruvian land during six months, I had the chance to discover an absolutely stunning cultural wealth: its humanity. Robert, whom I met on the cliffs separating Lima from the Pacific, is the perfect illustration of this humanity.

That is how for a weekend, a simple weekend, I landed right between the Cordillera Blanca and the Cordillera Negra in the town of Huaraz (3100m of altitude). With a French perspective, this town would be some kind of Andean Chamonix, without skiing, without the restlessness of the western world. A city with deeply rooted traditions that lives at its own pace, far for the swarming atmosphere of the capital.

Robert, Huaracino by birth, brought me there so that I would discover his region where his parents are still living. That is how, for three days, I was immersed in their beautiful family, received as if I was one of them by Glicerio and Juana. The former is a messenger and travels from one village to another on his motorcycle, while the latter sells gums and snacks on the main square.

Sharing the daily life of this humble family, that shares so much but has so little, was one of my most memorable experiences.

Rémi Schockmel

A

B

C

E

F

G

H

K

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts

Inspiration

Aventures

Adventure #6 : Week-end à Huaraz, Pérou

Pendant son expatriation de 6 mois au Pérou, Rémi Schockmel a partagé le temps d'un week-end la vie d'une famille de locaux. Une poignée d'heures qui restera a jamais gravée.

Parti m’aventurer en terre péruvienne pendant six mois, j’ai eu la chance d’y découvrir une richesse absolument édifiante : celle de ses Hommes. Robert, rencontré en haut des falaises qui séparent Lima du Pacifique en est l’illustration même. Au fil du temps, il devint un véritable ami.

C’est ainsi que le temps d’un week-end, un simple week-end, je me suis retrouvé entre la Cordillera Blanca et la Cordillera Negra, dans la ville de Huaraz (3100m d’altitude). Transposée à l’échelle française, cette ville serait une sorte de Chamonix andin, sans le ski, sans l’agitation du monde occidental. Une ville aux traditions bien ancrées qui vit à son rythme, loin du monstre grouillant qu’est la capitale.

Robert, huaracino de naissance, m’y a emmené afin que je découvre sa contrée où ses parents vivent encore. C’est donc pendant trois jours que je me suis retrouvé immergé au sein de cette jolie famille, accueilli comme l’un des leurs par Glicerio et Juana. Le premier est coursier et parcourt les montagnes de village en village sur sa moto, alors que la seconde vend chewing-gums et autres snacks sur la place centrale de la ville.

Vivre le quotidien de cette famille, qui partage tout mais qui a si peu, fut l’une de mes expériences les plus mémorables.

Rémi Schockmel

A

B

C

E

F

G

H

K

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...