Copenhagen’s city guide, Denmark

Forget about the little mermaid, Birgitte is showing you
her favorite spots around the Danish capital, so you can act like a local.

B
irgitte works at the Danish parliament as a “Committee secretary”. Born in 1989 in Denmark, her motto could be “happy go lucky”, but in realizing she’s not making the most of it. She loves popcorn, swimming in the ocean (especially the first dip), being able to walk around with naked ankles during the first months of spring and Matthew E. White. However getting up before 8 am, action movies and packed calendar are not meant to please her. Getting off from work and spontaneously meeting up with friends is what we could call her favorite moment of the day. She would have loved to be a psychiatrist and live in Kyoto, Japan. Today, Birgitte is taking us to the most hip places of her beloved city.

guide-copenhague-birgitte10

So first, how would you describe Copenhagen to someone that has never been?

The beauty of Copenhagen is really defined by the combination of the feeling of a “small city” combined with a great variety in architecture, expressions, cultures and atmospheres. Once you get a sense of the outskirts of Copenhagen you will discover an endless number of areas within the city – which is why I am still spending my weekends discovering the city. The city is vibrating and there is a curious vibe, which seems to make the citizens of Copenhagen take new and sometimes unexpected initiatives – just this week I visited an old cistern, which has been emptied and turned, into a huge sound installation!

How do you get around Copenhagen?

I guess it does not come as a surprise… I bike around Copenhagen! It is the quickest and easiest way to get around the city and the City of Copenhagen is working hard to make it even easier. At the same time they are working to optimize the bike experience. For instance this amazing bicycle bridge just opened.

What is your favorite neighborhood?

I live on Nørrebro which is in stereotypical words the multiethnic area of the city, and also where hipsters like to hang around. The area is super small, you can walk from one side of the area to another in around 25 minutes and that includes a coffee stop. But the reason why I love this area is that it is ever evolving. Shops, coffee places are opening all the time and even though some of them close again there is a spirit of entrepreneurship and curiosity. Just this last couple of months a donut shop and a noise record store opened. Furthermore Nørrebro is like a city within the city where there is a strong local involvement and identity.

Best time of the year to go?

Definitely summer or spring. The city becomes sparkling and the Danes are enjoying any minute of it sitting in parks and outside on the various cafés and bars.

guide-copenhague-birgitte4

FOR A COFFEE

To go I would say Riccos (1), they have shops all over the city. For a « sit down »-coffee I would recommend Harbo Bar (2).

FOR A BRUNCH

Must be Taxa (3) in Kronborggade.

FOR A LUNCH WITH YOUR COLLEAGUES

La Galette (4) is a favorite. Otherwise go to Torvehallerne (5) where you can choose a lunch of exactly your liking because it is a food market. If you go there make sure to try Gorms Pizza.

FOR A ROMANTIC NIGHT OUT

If it is not for dinner I would recommend Duck and Cover (6) which is a super cool cocktail bar.

guide-copenhague-birgitte9

FOR A DINNER WITH FRIENDS

If it has to be cheap I would choose FuWa (7) which serves a super good Dim Sum-menu. If it can be a bit more expensive I would go for Ranees (8) which serves the best Thai food in the city.

FOR A CRAZY COCKTAIL EVENING

Bremen Theatre (9) is good for dancing and has pretty cheap drinks. Otherwise go to The Meat Packing District (10) (Kødbyen in danish) where you’ll find a lot of cool places just next to each other.

FOR CHEAP BEERS

In Copenhagen we have a lot of « brown bars » which is the best translation I could think of. It was originally for people drinking more than they were working, but now this is where the young people go for cheap beers. My favorite would be Dilligencen (11) in Bragesgade or Bo-Bi Bar (12) in the center of the city.

guide-copenhague-birgitte5

FOR A BUSINESS MEETING

Definitely Bevar’s (13). It is a cafe where you can actually reserve a meeting room.

FOR A FIRST DATE

Wascator (14) is the place! You can have both lunch and dinner (cheap) there, or you could just have something to drink and a game of backgammon.

TO WATCH PEOPLE IN THE STREET

Sit down next to the lakes (15) in the middle of Copenhagen. There is three of them, but choose the one closest to Nørrebro. There you will find a beautiful mix of hipsters dressed up for a Sunday walk, runners and families. Furthermore there are swanes.

guide-copenhague-birgitte3

FOR A DRUNK DANCING NIGHT

Drone (16) has a great dance floor and you can get drunk rather cheap. The music is great, most indie and rock, but it gets super sweaty down there during the late hours!

FOR A QUALITY CONCERT

Make sure to check Vega (17) out, they hold great Danish and international names. Otherwise I really like to go to the Opera House (18). So if you are up for that make sure to try it out.

FOR A SPORT SESSION

In summer you can join free yoga classes in the public parks. I practice yoga every week at the yoga center called Senses (19). Beautifully decorated, clean and good instructors.

guide-copenhagen-birgitte1

FOR SHOPPING

For clothing, & Other Stories (20). If you have a few hours for shopping try the good shops on Elmegade (21), Nørrebro. Amongst others there is an Acne Archive (22) shop, where you can shop show pieces and Acne clothing on sale.

FOR VINTAGE

There is a great one on the corner of Ravnsborggade and Sankt Hansgade (23). Cannot think of the name right now but it easy to find. Next to the corner you will also find a number of vintage furniture shops which are also great.

FOR A GREEN AREA

Without doubt Assistens Kirkegården (24). It may sound weird but it is actually a church yard where people come to hang out. In a charming way it is super messy and you can easily be lost in it with all its small roads and corners.

FOR THE BEST PANORAMIC VIEW

There has just been built a restaurant in the Parliament, called Tårnet (25). Of course you cannot go for the restaurant for free but you can climb the tower. There you will find a great view over all of Copenhagen. Another possibility is Vor Frelser Kirke (26) but there you will have to walk all the way up.

guide-copenhague-birgitte8

FOR A WALK

I would recommend checking out Danish Architecture Center (27). They have an app where they recommend walks around the city where you will at the same time get information on the buildings you are passing. Otherwise do as all the Copenhageners do: walk the three lakes.

FOR A TOURISTIC POINT

I would definitely go to Christiania (28), if you are in Copenhagen during summertime. Make sure to eat at Morgenstedet (29) and enjoy the free concerts on Sundays during summer. Otherwise go to Rosenborg Castle (30) which is always worth a trip.

FOR A MUSEUM

That must be The National Gallery of Denmark (31). But actually my favorite museum is a bit outside of Copenhagen and it is called Louisiana, in Humlebæk. It is a MUST if you are visiting Denmark. I also LOVE Thorvaldsens Museum (32) which is a famous sculptor exhibiting in the most beautiful surroundings.

guide-copenhague-birgitte7

FOR THE WEEK-END ESCAPADE

I simply love Jutland and I find it a waste that some many people do not get to see the West Coast of Jutland when they are in Copenhagen. So I would recommend borrowing a car and driving the three hour drive to the West Coast where you could stay at a camp site or rent a summer house. And once you are there you might as well see the beautiful city Ribe which is one of the oldest in Denmark.

What do I need to absolutely taste or try before leaving?

Smørrebrød! I think it is called Danish open sandwiches or something like that in English. It is a traditional meal but the focus on the Nordic Kitchen has brought some new thinking of smørrebrød. It is perfect for lunch with a cold beer on the side.

 

Copenhagen inspirations

 

guide-copenhague-birgitte6

Products to take back home

Maybe some Scandinavian design in shape of either clothing or furniture. Maybe a cool poster from this shop in Jægersborggade: Butik CMYK (33).

A song

The band called Ulige Numre made a song called « København » last year which was a major hit. I think it made us proud in a way of the city and that is why people loved it. But to also name a song in English it must be « I Remember » from the band Figurines which I listened to all the time when I moved here.

A book

That is harder. Cannot really think of a good book which is taking place within Copenhagen that I have recently read. It must be Nick Cave’s The Death of Bunny Munro because I have read it here and borrowed it to a lot of friends in Copenhagen.

A person

Check out Suzanne Brøgger. She is super cool and provoked a lot of people back in the days.

A movie

Maybe I could say Ghost Writer by Polanski because parts of it are actually recorded in Denmark, though not in Copenhagen.

guide-copenhague-birgitte11

guide-copenhague-birgitte12

Photos by Chloé Brunet

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...

Latest Posts

Inspiration

Aventures

Le guide de Copenhague, Danemark

Laissez tomber la petite sirène, Birgitte vous emmène visiter
ses spots préférés de la capitale danoise, de quoi devenir un vrai local.

B
irgitte travaille au Parlement danois, en tant que « secrétaire de Comité ». Née en 1989 et originaire du Danemark, elle se définit comme insouciante, mais réalise avec du recul qu’elle n’en profite pas assez. Elle adore le popcorn, nager dans l’océan (surtout le premier plongeon), la sensation des chevilles nues lors des premiers mois de printemps et Matthew E. White. Ce qu’elle préfère, c’est retrouver spontanément ses amis à la sortie du boulot. Par contre, elle déteste se lever avant 8 heure, les films d’action et les plannings blindés. Elle aurait adoré devenir psychiatre et habiter à Kyoto au Japon. Aujourd’hui, Birgitte nous emmène visiter les lieux branchés de sa ville adorée.

guide-copenhague-birgitte10

Comment décrirais-tu Copenhague à quelqu’un qui n’y est jamais allé ?

La beauté de Copenhague, c’est le fait de se sentir dans une « petite ville » tout en ayant accès à une grande variété d’architecture, de cultures, d’atmosphères et d’expressions. Une fois que tu comprends quelles sont les limites de la ville, tu commences à découvrir un nombre infinis de quartiers – ce qui explique pourquoi je passe mes week-ends à explorer les moindres recoins. C’est une ville qui vibre et présente une ambiance unique, curieuse, qui semble pousser les habitants à prendre des initiatives, parfois inattendues. Tiens, cette semaine par exemple, je suis allée visiter une vieille citerne transformée en gigantesque installation sonore !

Comment te déplaces-tu dans Copenhague ?

J’imagine que ça ne surprendra personne… Je fais du vélo ! C’est la façon la plus rapide et la plus facile pour naviguer en ville, et la municipalité fait beaucoup d’efforts dans ce sens. Ils optimisent toujours les trajets, en ce moment notamment avec cet incroyable pont pour vélos qui vient juste d’ouvrir.

Ton quartier préféré ?

J’habite à Nørrebro, c’est-à-dire le quartier multiculturel de la ville, pour être très cliché, et c’est aussi un coin très branché. C’est une zone très petite, traversable à pied de bout en bout en 25 minutes environ, en comptant une pause-café. Mais la raison pour laquelle j’adore ce lieu, c’est qu’il est en constante évolution. Il y a tout le temps de nouveaux magasins, de nouveaux cafés. Et même si cela implique que d’autres ferment, tu sens clairement l’atmosphère entrepreneuriale, la curiosité ambiante. Ces deux derniers mois par exemple, on a vu s’ouvrir une boutique de donuts et une autre de musique. En plus de ça, Nørrebro c’est un peu une ville dans la ville. Il y a une vie de quartier très importante, avec une réelle identité et une vive implication des locaux.

Le meilleur moment de l’année pour s’y rendre ?

En été ou au printemps. La ville pétille et les danois profitent de chaque instant, dans les parcs ou assis en terrasse.

guide-copenhague-birgitte4

POUR UN CAFÉ

À emporter je dirais Riccos (1), ils ont des points de vente un peu partout dans la ville. Pour se poser, je recommande Harbo Bar (2).

POUR UN BRUNCH

Sans hésitation, Taxa (3), à Kronborggade.

POUR UN DÉJEUNER ENTRE COLLÈGUES

La Galette(4)  est un must. Sinon direction Torvehallerne (5), un marché de nourriture, donc il y en a pour tous les goûts. Si tu vas là-bas, Gorms Pizza est à tester.

POUR UNE SOIRÉE ROMANTIQUE

Si ça n’implique pas de dîner, j’irais à Duck and Cover (6), un super bar à cocktail.

guide-copenhague-birgitte9

POUR UN DÎNER ENTRE AMIS

Si ça doit rester économique, FuWa (7) propose un menu Dim Sum à tomber. Si ça peut être un peu plus cher, Ranees (8) sert la meilleure cuisine thaï de la ville.

POUR DES COCKTAILS DE FOLIE

Bremen Theatre (9), c’est pas mal pour danser et les consommations ne sont pas trop chères. Sinon dans le Meat Packing District (10) (Kødbyen en danois), tu trouveras plein de chouettes endroits, collés les uns aux autres.

POUR DES BIÈRES PAS CHÈRES

À Copenhague, on a beaucoup de cafés bruns. À la base, c’était plutôt des lieux pour les gens qui buvaient plus qu’ils ne travaillaient, mais maintenant c’est là où les jeunes vont boire des bières pas chères. Mon préféré, c’est Diligencen (11), ou Bo-Bi Bar (12) dans le centre.

guide-copenhague-birgitte5

POUR UN RENDEZ-VOUS DE BOULOT

Bevar’s (13). C’est un café où tu peux réellement réserver une salle de réunion.

POUR UN RENCARD

Wascator (14) ! Ils servent à déjeuner et à dîner (plutôt pas cher) mais tu peux aussi simplement prendre un verre et jouer au backgammon.

POUR OBSERVER LES PASSANTS

Assieds-toi près des lacs (15) au centre de Copenhague. Il y en a trois mais choisis celui qui est le plus proche de Nørrebro. Au programme : des hipsters habillés pour leur balade du dimanche, des joggeurs, des familles… et des cygnes.

guide-copenhague-birgitte3

POUR UNE SOIRÉE DANSANTE ARROSÉE

Drone (16). Super piste de danse et des consommations à petits prix. La musique est top, plutôt indé/rock, et plus les heures avancent, plus l’atmosphère se fait chaude !

POUR UN CONCERT DE QUALITÉ

Il ne faut pas hésiter à checker Vega (17). La programmation, danoise et internationale, est top. Dans un autre genre, j’adore l’Opéra (18). Donc si ça te branche, n’hésite pas à y aller.

POUR UNE SÉANCE DE SPORT

Pendant l’été, tu peux assister à des séances de yoga gratuites dans les parcs publics. Je le pratiquais toutes les semaines au centre Senses (19). Joliment décoré, propre et des bons profs.

guide-copenhagen-birgitte1

POUR FAIRE DU SHOPPING

Pour les vêtements, & Other Stories (20). Si tu as quelques heures devant toi, il y a des chouettes boutiques sur Elmegade (21), à Nørrebro, dont la boutique Acne Archive (22), où tu peux trouver les collections en soldes.

POUR CHINER

Il y a une super fripe au coin de Ravnsborggade et Sankt Hansgade (23). Je n’arrive pas à me rappeler du nom mais elle est très facile à trouver. Dans le même coin, il y a des magasins de meubles vintage qui valent le détour.

POUR SE METTRE AU VERT

Sans aucun doute, Assistens Kirkegården (24). Ça peut paraître étrange mais c’est en réalité un cimetière où les gens se baladent. C’est très désordonné, mais de façon charmante. Et tu peux facilement te perdre dans les multiples passages et recoins.

POUR UNE BELLE VUE PANORAMIQUE

Ils viennent juste d’installer un restaurant dans le Parlement, qui s’appelle Tårnet (25). Si tu ne désires pas y mander, tu peux simplement te rendre en haut de la tour. La vue de la ville là-haut est superbe. Une autre option est d’aller à l’église Vor Frelser Kirke (26), mais là il faudra grimper à pied.

guide-copenhague-birgitte8

POUR UNE BALADE

Je conseille de regarder le site du Centre danois d’architecture (27). Ils ont créé une application qui propose des balades dans la ville et qui permet d’avoir des informations sur les bâtiments en direct. Sinon, pour te la jouer local, balade toi autour des trois lacs dont je te parlais plus tôt.

POUR VISITER LE SPOT TOURISTIQUE

Si c’est l’été, va faire un tour à Christiania (28). Mange un bout à Morgenstedet (29) où tu pourras profiter des concerts gratuits du dimanche. Sinon, une visite du Château de Rosenborg (30) vaut toujours le coup.

POUR ALLER AU MUSÉE

Il faut évidemment aller voir la National Gallery of Denmark (31). Mais en réalité mon musée préféré est un peu en dehors de Copenhague et s’appelle Louisiana, à Humlebæk. C’est un MUST. J’adore aussi le musée Thorvaldsens (32), qui expose des sculptures célèbres dans un environnement fabuleux.

guide-copenhague-birgitte7

POUR L’ESCAPADE DU WEEK-END

J’adore le Jutland, et je trouve ça bien dommage que beaucoup de personnes n’aillent pas jeter un oeil à la côte ouest quand ils se rendent à Copenhague. Donc je conseillerais de louer une voiture pour s’y rendre (3 heures de route). Tu peux ensuite louer une maison de vacances ou faire du camping. Et une fois là-bas, c’est l’occasion d’aller visiter la jolie ville de Ribe, une des plus anciennes du Danemark.

Qu’est-ce que je dois absolument tester ou goûter avant de partir ?

Smørrebrød ! Je crois que ça se traduit « sandwiches ouverts danois » en français, ou quelque chose comme ça. C’est un repas traditionnel, mais toute l’attention portée à la cuisine nordique a apporté un vent nouveau au smørrebrød. C’est l’en-cas parfait pour le déjeuner avec une bière bien fraîche.

 

Inspirations de Copenhague

 

guide-copenhague-birgitte6

Les produits à ramener dans ma valise

Peut-être des vêtements ou des meubles typiquement scandinaves. Ou un joli poster de cette boutique sur Jægersborggade : Butik CMYK (33).

Une chanson

Le groupe Ulige Numre a fait une chanson qui s’appelle « København » l’année dernière, un hit local. Je crois que ça nous a tous rendus fiers de notre ville et c’est pour cette raison que tout le monde l’a adorée. Mais pour citer aussi une chanson en anglais, je dirai « I Remember » du groupe Figurines, que j’écoutais sans arrêt quand j’ai déménagé ici.

Un livre

Celle-là est plus dure. Je n’arrive pas à trouver un bon bouquin qui se passe à Copenhague et que j’ai lu récemment, donc je vais dire Mort de Bunny Munro de Nick Cave, parce que je l’ai lu ici et prêté à beaucoup d’amis à Copenhague.

Une personnalité

Jette un œil à Suzanne Brøgger. Elle était super cool et provocatrice pour son époque.

Un film

Peut-être Ghost Writer de Polanski. Même s’il n’a pas été tourné à Copenhague, certaines scènes se passent au Danemark.

guide-copenhague-birgitte11

guide-copenhague-birgitte12

Photos par Chloé Brunet

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *