Fred Goyeau, black and white photo printer

Interview extracted from Les Others Magazine Volume II : The Hidden Issue.

T
he art world would be nothing without its backstage, where professionals tirelessly work to render each project technically perfect. Just like lighting or sound design in cinema, analog photo processing and printing are amongst those hidden trades we very nearly forget exist, convinced that an automaton is in charge of revealing, in a fraction of a second, our so very precious shots. And yet, locked away for hours on end in their darkrooms, the ‘printers’ unroll, soak, pinch, apply and time, so that, finally, what was imagined on film becomes reality on paper.

We met with Fred Goyeau, a black and white printer, in his laboratory in the south of Paris. He told us all about his experience amongst the greatest, described his profound love for a struggling trade and exposed his well-informed outlook on photography today.

What was your first contact with photography?

It all began with my father. He always did photography and I never saw him without his camera, which I still keep preciously today. I was probably twelve years old when we began organizing developing and printing sessions in our family bathroom. My approach to photography began directly through the laboratory. Of course, I would do photography on the side and I would always have a camera on me, but it was not really my thing.

fred-goyau-interview-2

When did you know you wanted to become a photo printer?

During my photography course, I had the opportunity, two years running, to work at Picto, one of the oldest photo labs in Paris. As an apprentice, you were not allowed near the developing department, deemed private and restricted to experienced employees. I therefore did one year of black and white printing, and one year of color printing. Something clicked at that moment.

After a few months abroad and a stint in the army, I was finally hired in the developing department. At that time, Picto was the hub for great photographers. We were in contact with the greatest: Henri Cartier-Bresson, Josef Koudelka, Jacques Olivar, and the Turnley brothers. Sometimes, it’s up to you to judge if you have to lighten by a quarter, a third or half a diaphragm for example. It really sharpens your eye, reading the positives as well as the negatives. It’s in the darkroom that you learn how to expose a film correctly, and what its purpose is.

After two and a half years of relentless developing, I needed a change of scenery. I launched a project with a friend to go and do some photography in Australia. We were supposed to stay there for one year, go around the country, and come back with a photo report: ‘Australians and their environment’. One portrait, one landscape. Unfortunately, after four months of travelling, we had a car accident. I wasn’t feeling so great. Mrs Gassmann, CHRO at Picto, heard of the story, and called me saying, ‘Fred, you have to come back to work, ok?’ So, in order to stop ruminating, I went back at the lab. After a while, I took advantage of someone leaving to finally take up black and white printing.

fred-goyau-interview-1

Why do you think you’re so attracted to black and white?

As well as a true sensitivity, there is a technical reason. Color printing entails having to work with a machine. Personally, I prefer to do everything myself, my hands stuck in the chemicals from beginning to end. When you think about it, everyone can develop in black and white and that’s what makes it so appealing. As long as you master the lighting well and you respect the baths’ temperatures, you can do it in your own kitchen sink.

Your encounter with Sebastião Salgado, famous black and white photographer, was inevitable then.

I spent two and a half years with Salgado. He’s really very nice. Well, when he comes in the dark with you and watches you develop prints, he’s not really that nice (laughs), but he is a very good person. At Amazonas, the agency dedicated to Sebastião Salgado’s work, there are negatives everywhere. You just have to snoop around a bit to find incredible things. I was there at the beginning of the Genesis project, and I had access to everything he had done previously: Workers, Sahel, true masterpieces.

Generally, for his photo coverages, he would leave for a month with 300 rolls of film. 30 exposures per film so, on average, 3,500 to 4,000 work prints. There were two of us looking after them. With such vast quantities, there really is no better printing school.

And it is very stimulating, because he doesn’t have any specific demands. The mood in which he is in at this or that moment dictates what you need to do. Even if the sky is overexposed by two diaphragms in a shot, he has to have all the information at the time you’re presenting his work print in order for him to possibly say at a later time, ‘It’s not bad like that, but you’re going to have to darken the sky a lot more.

fred-goyau-interview-5

What are your feelings when developing possible future photography masterpieces?

What is interesting is to discover the path taken by the photographer to get to something good. Salgado wouldn’t go inside a hut in the very heart of south Sudan to take a few photos and then just leave. He would hang around, observe, go inside, the light would change. It’s that journey which I find interesting. Sometimes, you’ll say to yourself, ‘I think he’s going to take a photo of that’, because you can feel something happening, but you keep it to yourself. You don’t feel privileged for having seen his work before everybody else. You simply learn.

You set up your workshop in 2008, two years after Nikon, Canon and Konica Minolta announced they were stopping the production of analog cameras in favor of digital. What did that mean for you?

After I left Salgado, I wanted to see something else. I had not taken one single photo in two and a half years. There was a real dip in my photography during that time. An acquaintance offered me a space in a squat in Vitry. That’s where I began printing for the general public.

I wasn’t that worried about the incoming crisis. Because I’m stubborn, I like what I do and nothing could have stopped me from doing it. Of course, demand dipped. But I developed this laboratory knowing that it would not be easy, that breaking even would depend on keeping or losing three clients, and that in no way could I lose them. That’s also the reason why I broadened my product offerings to amateurs, without confining myself to Picto’s historical customers. Today, to be honest, I’m still not making a living with the lab. Let’s say the heart’s choice was not a simple one.

In any case, you really try to meet every single one of your clients, in order to create a relationship with them.

Meeting people is the basis of my job. If people come to drop off rolls of film, then leave without bothering to talk to me, I’m not interested. In this case, my trade would not be recognized anymore. I am proud of what I learned in my course and later on through my different experiences. Even though, as time goes by, it tends to look like a hobby, when I started, photo printer was a real job (laughs). It’s important people are aware of that.

You were never really that studious, and yet there’s a true mathematical aspect to developing and printing.

I don’t think it’s that mathematical. It’s just photography, and the light variations that go with it. You simply have to know how to quantify the dosage of light that needs to be added to a print to make it more or less dark. It becomes instinctive. Everything I learned developing with quarter or half diaphragms enabled me to know precisely what to do when faced with a print.

Every day, you develop the most intimate images of people you didn’t even know a few hours beforehand. Do you see a voyeuristic dimension in the process?

No. I see peculiar shots go by from time to time, of course, but I see them without seeing them. When a client asks me to develop a series on his girlfriend, I look at the film – ‘Is it correctly exposed? Perfect.’ I show him the contact sheet and that’s it. Of course, if you tell me you traveled halfway around the world to photograph something that I find particularly appealing, a skateboard or surf competition for example, I’ll take a quick cheeky look. 

fred-goyau-interview-7

Do you feel close to surf culture?

Yes. I’d love to photograph it with my photographic chamber for example. Not athletes doing incredible tricks on two-meter waves, but rather the backstage action. Chris Burkard does that really well, with a chamber or other cameras. I like that mindset. I’m interested in what happens backstage, the people who gravitate around those sports. With the preparation, the trips and the competition, there’s more than enough. Every summer, I promise myself that I’ll take time off to go and see it all again.

Generally speaking, are there shots that you prefer to print?

I love reports, landscapes. That’s what I prefer to print because it speaks to me. Fashion photos, with their tricks and ultra precise compositions, are less my thing. By definition, there is a ‘true’ meaning to report shots that you’ll never find anywhere else. Don’t get me wrong, I love graphic research in composition, but without exaggerating the process.

We imagine a printer as being very solitary, shut away in his workshop. Do you need that solitude in order to work?

Yes. It’s an activity where you feel good alone. Alone, with the ambiance of the photographer for which you’re working. It enables you to confront yourself to the task at hand. Some printers cannot work without music. I personally prefer complete silence, where you can hear a pin drop. I work slowly, precisely, I’m in my zone and everything just flows. It’s the same with photography. I really need that solitude to be able to concentrate on my subject. I think solitude is an essential ingredient to photography generally speaking.

Especially when you realize the importance of developing and the symbolic dimension hidden behind it.

Totally. It’s the successful realization of what the photographer wanted. If he went to a particular place, spent an hour, fifteen days or years there and took that photo, it’s incredibly important, from the negative to its printing, to think about the moment he triggered his camera. By taking that photo, he knew what he would want you to express by calling on your services. If you succeed in materializing that idea, bingo. That’s why relationships between photographers and printers who understand each other last a long time.

The fact that the developing process isn’t instantaneous is very important as well. When I get back from a trip and develop my films, I select, print in a small format, and only when I’m convinced, I’ll print a large copy. So there’s a whole analyzing phase that makes you stand back and leads to a good result.

fred-goyau-interview-3

What does that mean to you in regards to photography?

The problem is that people don’t pay attention. It’s as simple as that. These days, the camera has become a big Polaroid body. You don’t even have to measure light anymore. Is it overexposed? Is it underexposed? That’s what I want. Never did you bother to take light into consideration. We are in an excessive photographic consumption dynamic. People take photos but don’t bother looking at them. With film, when you’re faced with a subject or you simply identify something worthwhile in the street, you have to go around it, take five, ten photos to be sure to obtain the wanted result. With digital, photographers snap away and check their framing afterwards.

I’ve noticed something with my students (Atelier photo, Paris III), if I give them a smartphone or a digital camera, they are able to take 500 photos in one evening. With a classic Lomography camera, they have trouble finishing one roll of film in one week. It’s very contradictory. In order to learn photography, you have to photograph. Even though the price of films has a lot to do with it, of course. By reducing the costs, digital has democratized a practice that it has also transformed, and not always in a good way.

And you, what cameras are you fond of?

I don’t like asking myself too many questions when I take a photo. Leica, chamber, Mamiya, they’re only tools. But if I absolutely had to choose one, it would be the Leica M6. It’s a model that suits me well: body, aperture, speed, film sensibility. The winding is manual, there’s nothing simpler. It’s like my enlarger, when it breaks, I know how to fix it. Rather than being a photographic apparatus, it’s a mechanical tool that I can repair. It’s the same thing with the M6: sturdy, not flashy, and practical because there’s a cell inside. And it works really well. I don’t only have outrageously expensive lenses to go with my cameras. I hunted down a few Russian models that suit me well, and taking photos with a scratched 24mm lens was never a problem for me. It’s not the equipment that makes the photographer.

As a printer, do you have a particular relationship with light?

Light fills my daily life. I’m always looking out the window to see how it inundates the street, to spot the ways in which the clouds play around with its brightness, in order to have that same rendering for a future print. There is a real difference between seeing and looking. I always look at the light. It’s the light that makes me work, so it is always omnipresent. Yesterday, I was heading home, it was raining, the light was radiant, it was absolutely crazy. I don’t really like ‘flat’ lighting. Today, what we have outside for example (grey day) hurts my eyes.

fred-goyau-interview-9

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...

Latest Posts

Inspiration

Aventures

Fred Goyeau, tireur noir et blanc

Rencontre avec un irréductible amoureux de la photographie. Interview extraite de Les Others Magazine Volume II : The Hidden Issue.

L
e monde de l’Art ne serait rien sans ses coulisses, à l’abri desquels des professionnels travaillent sans relâche pour rendre chaque projet techniquement parfait. À l’image de la lumière ou du sound design au cinéma, le développement et le tirage photo argentique font partie de ces métiers de l’ombre dont on irait jusqu’à oublier qu’ils existent, persuadés peut-être qu’un automate se charge de révéler en une fraction de seconde nos si précieux clichés. Pourtant, enfermés des heures durant dans leur chambre noire, les “tireurs” déroulent, baignent, pincent, appliquent et chronomètrent, pour qu’enfin l’imaginé sur pellicule devienne réalité sur papier.

Nous avons rencontré Fred Goyeau, tireur noir et blanc, dans son laboratoire du sud de Paris. Il nous a raconté son expérience au contact des plus grands, décrit son profond amour pour une profession en difficulté et exposé son regard averti sur la photographie d’aujourd’hui.

Quel a été ton premier contact avec la photographie ?

Tout part de mon père. Il a toujours fait de la photo et je ne l’ai jamais vu sans ses appareils, que je garde encore précieusement aujourd’hui. Je devais avoir 12 ans quand on a commencé à s’organiser des sessions de développement et de tirage dans la salle de bain familiale. Mon approche de la photographie s’est donc faite directement par le laboratoire. Bien sûr, je faisais de la photo en parallèle et j’avais toujours un appareil sur moi, mais c’était moins mon truc.

fred-goyau-interview-2

Quand as-tu su que tu deviendrais tireur photo ?

Pendant mon CAP, j’ai eu l’occasion de travailler deux années de suite chez Picto, l’un des plus vieux laboratoires photographiques de Paris. En tant qu’apprenti, on ne touchait pas au développement, département “chasse gardée” réservé aux employés expérimentés. J’ai donc fait une année de tirage noir et blanc et une année de tirage couleur. J’ai eu le déclic à ce moment-là.

Après quelques mois à l’étranger et un passage à l’armée, j’ai finalement été engagé, au développement cette fois-ci. À cette époque, Picto était la plaque tournante des bons photographes. On était au contact des plus grands : Henri Cartier-Bresson, Josef Koudelka, Jacques Olivar, les frères Turnley… Parfois, c’est à toi de juger, s’il faut éclaircir d’un quart, d’un tiers ou d’un demi-diaphragme par exemple. Ça affûte vraiment ton œil, dans la lecture des positifs comme des négatifs. C’est dans une chambre noire que tu comprends comment exposer un film et à quoi ça sert.

Après deux ans et demi de développement acharné, j’avais besoin de changer d’air. J’ai monté un projet avec un ami pour partir shooter en Australie. On devait y passer un an, faire le tour du pays et revenir avec un reportage : “L’Australien et son environnement”. Un portrait, un paysage. Malheureusement, au bout de quatre mois de voyage, on a eu un accident de voiture et je suis revenu en France. Je n’étais pas dans une grande forme. Madame Gassmann, la DRH de Picto, qui avait entendu parler de l’histoire, m’a rappelé en me disant : “Fred, il faut revenir travailler, d’accord ?” Donc j’ai rempilé. Après quelques temps, j’ai profité d’un départ pour enfin commencer le tirage noir et blanc.

fred-goyau-interview-1

Pourquoi cette attirance particulière pour le noir et blanc ?

En plus d’une vraie sensibilité, il y a à cela une raison technique. Le tirage couleur nécessite de passer par une machine. Personnellement, je préfère tout faire moi-même, les mains dans la chimie du début à la fin. Quand on y pense, tout le monde peut développer du noir et blanc et c’est aussi ce qui le rend attachant. Tant que tu maîtrises bien ta lumière et que tu respectes la température des bains, tu peux faire ça dans l’évier de ta cuisine.

Ta rencontre avec Sebastião Salgado, grand photographe noir et blanc, était d’autant plus inévitable.

J’ai passé deux années et demi avec Salgado. Il est sympa. Enfin, quand il rentre dans le noir avec toi et qu’il te regarde faire les tirages, il n’est pas vraiment sympa (rires), mais c’est quelqu’un de très bien. Chez Amazonas, l’agence dédiée au travail de Sebastião Salgado, il y avait des négatifs partout. Il suffisait de fouiller un peu pour tomber sur des choses incroyables. J’étais là au début du projet Genesis, et j’avais accès à tout ce qu’il avait fait avant : La Main de l’Homme, le Sahel… Des vraies masterpieces.

En général, il partait pour un mois de reportage avec 300 pellicules de 30 vues chacune. On était deux à s’en occuper. Avec un volume pareil, il n’y a pas meilleure école de tirage. Et puis c’est stimulant, parce qu’il ne fait pas de demande particulière. Son état d’esprit du moment te dicte ce que tu dois faire. Même si c’est surexposé de deux diaphragmes dans le ciel, il faut qu’il ait toutes les informations au moment où tu lui présentes son tirage de lecture, pour éventuellement pouvoir dire après : “C’est pas mal comme ça, mais il va falloir fermer beaucoup plus le ciel”.

fred-goyau-interview-5

Qu’est-ce que tu ressens quand tu développes d’éventuels futurs chefs-d’œuvre de la photographie ?

Ce qui est très intéressant, c’est de découvrir le chemin que le photographe a emprunté pour arriver à un bon résultat. Salgado n’entrait pas dans une hutte au fin fond du Sud-Soudan pour prendre une photo et s’en aller. Il tournait autour, il observait, il entrait, la lumière changeait… C’est ce parcours qui est intéressant. Parfois, tu te dis : “Je pense qu’il va prendre celle-là”, parce que tu sens que quelque chose se passe, mais tu le gardes pour toi. Il n’y a pas vraiment ce sentiment de privilège de l’avoir vu avant tout le monde. Tu apprends, tout simplement.

Tu montes ton atelier en 2008, 2 ans après que Nikon, Canon et Konica Minolta avaient annoncé qu’ils abandonnaient la production d’appareils de photo argentique, au profit du numérique. Qu’est-ce que cela a voulu dire pour toi ?

En sortant de chez Salgado, je voulais voir autre chose. En deux ans et demi, je n’avais pris aucune photo pour moi. Il y a un vrai trou dans ma photographie à ce moment-là. Un ami m’a proposé de prendre un espace dans un squat à Vitry. C’est là que j’ai commencé à faire du tirage pour le “grand” public.

La crise qui allait arriver ne m’a pas angoissé plus que ça. Parce que je suis têtu, que j’aime ce que je fais et que rien n’aurait pu m’empêcher de le faire. Bien sûr, la demande a baissé. Mais j’ai développé ce labo en sachant que ce serait compliqué, qu’à un moment donné ça se jouerait à trois clients et qu’il ne faudrait pas les lâcher. C’est aussi pour ça que j’ai élargi mon offre à une clientèle parfois amateure, sans me cantonner aux anciens de chez Picto. Aujourd’hui, pour tout dire, ce labo ne me permet toujours pas de gagner ma vie. Disons que le choix du cœur n’a tout simplement pas été celui de la simplicité.

Quoi qu’il arrive, tu tiens à rencontrer chacun de tes clients, pour “créer un lien” avec eux.

Rencontrer les gens, c’est la base de mon métier. Si les gens viennent poser des films, qu’ils s’en vont et qu’il n’y a pas eu d’échange, ça ne m’intéresse pas. Et en plus, dans ce cas là, mon métier n’est pas reconnu. Je suis fier de ce que j’ai appris en CAP et plus tard à travers mes différentes expériences. Même si avec le temps ça tend à devenir un hobby, quand j’ai commencé, tireur photo était un vrai métier (rires). C’est important que les gens le sachent.

Tu n’as jamais été particulièrement studieux, et pourtant il y a dans le développement et le tirage un aspect très mathématique.

Je ne trouve pas que ce soit “mathématique”. C’est juste de la photo, et les variations de lumière qui vont avec. Il faut simplement savoir quantifier la dose de lumière que tu dois ajouter à un tirage pour qu’il soit plus ou moins sombre. C’est un instinct que tu finis par attraper. Tout ce que j’ai appris au développement avec les quarts et les demi diaphragmes, ça me permet de savoir précisément ce qu’il faut faire quand je suis devant un tirage.

Tous les jours, tu révèles les images les plus intimes de personnes que tu ne connaissais pas quelques heures auparavant. Est-ce que tu y perçois une dimension voyeuriste ?

Pas vraiment, non. Je vois passer des clichés particuliers de temps en temps, bien sûr, mais je les vois sans les voir. Quand un de mes clients me demande de développer une série qu’il a faite de son amie, je regarde le film : “Il est bien exposé ? C’est parfait.” Je lui montre la planche contact et c’est terminé. Après, évidemment si tu me dis que tu es parti à l’autre bout du monde photographier un sujet qui me parle particulièrement, une compétition de skate ou de surf par exemple, je vais jeter un œil gentiment.

fred-goyau-interview-7

Tu te sens proche de la culture surf ?

Oui. J’adorerais en faire des photos avec ma chambre photographique par exemple. Pas des athlètes en train de faire des figures incroyables dans des creux de deux mètres, mais plutôt des backstages. Chris Burkard fait ça super bien, à la chambre ou avec d’autres boîtiers. J’aime bien cet esprit. Ce sont les coulisses qui m’intéressent, les gens qui gravitent autour de ces sports. Entre la préparation, les voyages et la compétition, il y a largement de quoi faire. Tous les étés, je me dis que je vais me payer des vacances pour aller revoir tout ça.

De manière générale, il y a des clichés que tu préfères tirer ?

J’adore les reportages, les paysages. C’est ce que je préfère tirer parce que ça me parle. Les photos de mode, leurs artifices et leurs compositions ultra précises, c’est moins mon truc. Par définition, il y a ce côté “vrai” dans les clichés de reportage que tu ne retrouveras pas ailleurs. Attention, j’aime qu’il y ait une recherche graphique dans la composition, mais sans exagérer la démarche.

On imagine le travail de tireur comme celui d’un solitaire, “terré” dans son atelier. Tu as besoin de cette solitude pour travailler ?

Oui. C’est une activité où l’on se sent bien seul. Seul, dans l’ambiance du photographe avec lequel on travaille. Ça permet de se confronter à la tâche que l’on doit effectuer. Certains tireurs ne peuvent pas travailler sans musique. Personnellement, je préfère le silence complet, on peut entendre les mouches voler. Je travaille lentement, précisément, je suis dans mon truc et tout s’enchaîne. Dans la photographie, c’est pareil. J’ai vraiment besoin de cette solitude pour me concentrer sur mon sujet. Je crois que c’est un ingrédient essentiel à l’exercice de la photographie de manière générale.

Surtout quand on réalise l’importance de l’acte de développement et la dimension symbolique qui se cache derrière.

Complètement. C’est l’aboutissement de ce qu’a voulu le photographe. Si il est parti à tel endroit, qu’il y a passé une heure, quinze jours ou des années et qu’il y a fait telle photo, c’est très important, depuis le négatif jusqu’au tirage, de penser au moment où il a déclenché son appareil. En prenant la photo, il savait ce qu’il chercherait à exprimer en faisant appel à tes services. Si tu réussis à matérialiser cette idée, c’est bingo. C’est pour cette raison que l’histoire dure souvent très longtemps entre un photographe et un tireur qui se comprennent.

Le fait que le processus de développement ne soit pas instantané est très important aussi. Quand je reviens de voyage et que je développe mes films, je sélectionne, je tire en petit et, seulement quand je suis convaincu, je tire en plus grand. Il y a toute une phase de réflexion qui amène le recul nécessaire à un bon résultat.

fred-goyau-interview-3

Il y a 30 ans, aucune photo ne pouvait être contemplée sans être passée par un bain révélateur. Aujourd’hui, 99% d’entre elles apparaissent instantanément sur écran digital. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie à ton sens pour la photographie ?

Le problème, c’est que les gens ne font plus attention. C’est aussi simple que ça. Aujourd’hui, l’appareil photo est devenu un gros boîtier Polaroïd. Tu ne fais même plus ta mesure. “C’est surexposé ? C’est sous-exposé ? C’est ce que je veux.” À aucun moment tu n’as pris la lumière en considération. Nous sommes dans une dynamique de consommation excessive de la photographie. Les gens font des clichés mais ne les regardent pas. En argentique, quand on a un sujet ou qu’on identifie tout simplement quelque chose dans la rue qui semble valoir le coup, il faut tourner autour, en faire cinq, dix pour être sûr d’obtenir un résultat. Avec le numérique, les photographes mitraillent et vérifient leur cadre ensuite.

J’ai remarqué quelque chose avec mes élèves (Atelier photo, Paris III). Si je leur donne un smartphone ou un numérique, ils sont capables de faire 500 images en une soirée. Avec un Lomography classique, ils ont du mal à terminer une pellicule en une semaine. C’est très contradictoire. Pour apprendre la photographie, il faut photographier. Même si le prix de l’argentique joue beaucoup, bien sûr. En réduisant les coûts, le numérique a permis de démocratiser une pratique qu’il a aussi transformée, pas toujours dans le bon sens.

Et toi, quels sont les appareils que tu affectionnes particulièrement ?

Quand je prends une photo, je ne veux pas me poser trop de questions. Leica, chambre, Mamiya… Ce ne sont que des outils. Si je devais en choisir un absolument, ce serait le Leica M6. C’est un modèle qui me correspond bien : un boîtier, l’ouverture, les vitesses et la sensibilité du film. L’avancement est manuel, il n’y a rien de plus simple. C’est comme mon agrandisseur : quand il se casse, je sais comment le réparer. Plus qu’un matériel photographique, c’est un outil mécanique que je répare. Le M6 c’est pareil : costaud, pas tape-à-l’œil, pratique parce qu’il y a une cellule à

l’intérieur… Et ça fonctionne super bien. À côté de mes boîtiers, je n’ai pas que des optiques hors-de-prix. J’ai chiné quelques modèles russes qui me conviennent tout à fait, et faire des photos avec un 24 mm tout rayé ne m’a jamais posé aucun problème. Ce n’est pas le matériel qui fait le photographe.

Tu entretiens un rapport particulier avec la lumière ?

La lumière est partout dans mon quotidien. Je regarde toujours par la fenêtre pour inspecter la manière dont elle inonde la rue, identifier la façon dont les nuages jouent sur son éclat, pour retrouver le même rendu lors d’un tirage futur. Il y a une vraie différence entre voir et regarder. Je regarde toujours la lumière. C’est elle qui me fait travailler donc elle est omniprésente. Hier, je rentrais chez moi, il pleuvait, la lumière était rasante, c’était complètement dingue. Je n’aime pas les lumières trop plates. Aujourd’hui, ce que nous avons dehors par exemple (jour blanc), ça me fait mal aux yeux.

fred-goyau-interview-9

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...