The flanel’s shirts of Chicago, USA

The photographer and author Elisa Routa draws a portrait both original and authentic of the third biggest city of the United States.

When someone tells you “I’m from Chicago”, you immediately imagine a huskier version of Eminem, keeping his gun wedged between belt and jeans, wearing incredible tattoos over the neck and having an exacerbated obsession for under-5$ 6-packs. You imagine a man who would have grown up between a violent father and a druggie mother whose favorite hobby would consist in watching “Keeping up with the Kardashian” and holding the local mini-market up for buying some cheap wine.

“There’s an old church down here, it’s really worth going out of your way to pass by. The oldest church in the neighborhood.” When we meet Joe, we’re far from Eminem and bad family gangsters, wearing a blue ink tear under the eye. You find yourself face to the kindness in its true definition, an inconceivable quality after a short time stay at Paris Charles-de-Gaulle airport, a place where being stamped and insulted is more common than actually board a plane. The old church in question looks like a meticulous assembly of polystyrene slabs we generally find in the cardboards of new domestic electrical goods. Almost as old as my great-grandmother, that’s to say extremely young knowing that each of French cathedral dates back to the 13th century, minimum.

Chicago Elisa Routa1

Anyway, Joe doesn’t look like a Hispanic gangster from Crime Scene Investigation and doesn’t have any knowledge in History. He doesn’t wear pants under his cheeks or an oversize flannel shirt. Joe is the manager of “Sunny Side Up” on Superior Street, a bar at the edge of the street where tables go over the shaded sidewalk. Watching people living in Chicago feels like watching an American series in 3D, ultra-definition sound included and without the guy behind you kicking in your red carpet easy chair.

Once in the capital of Illinois, I had no particular expectations, except that of eating the same pizza slice we see in the culinary programs adverts. It is thick, greasy and the trickles of melted cheese are more indigestible than a hair in a soup. For my first dinner on Clark Street I chose the irresistible mushroom Mac & Cheese. This dish is so heavy that it will probably avoid me to fly away in the gust of wind from the Windy city.”Yeaaaaaah.” This strong and piercing voice makes itself heard at Mickey’s Bar, at the other side of the street: this is a group of young American girls who try to express themselves on a Saturday night, with neither elegance nor discretion. They grab onto their beer jug as you hold a child by the hand, feared that someone could steal him. The jug runs down at each strong start and splashes their Chicago Bears t-shirts, shorten for the occasion… “Drunk but sexy” is with no doubt the universal proverb for womankind. Concentrated on the giant screens broadcasting an American soccer match, the overexcited teenagers liven things up in a neighborhood that is not even close to fall asleep.

Chicago Elisa Routa5

I remember this bright light across the streets of the city at 6am, as a beautiful alarm signal sweeter than a caress on the cheek. The light show going on the huge windows of the all-glass buildings is an incredible moment. Shades on the ground flicker between cars and buses as an imprudent children game. You can also observe gulls above the interminable Michigan Lake reminding you that you’re finally at home everywhere. You have these cabs in hurry and their horn resonating under these yellow iron bridges that suddenly brings us into a more exciting atmosphere. There’s Lincoln Park where leopards and chimpanzees from the zoo are mixed with slicked businessmen wearing suits and trainers. There’s the unshakeable Chicago River that peacefully cuts the city center in two parts, as the hair on a docile and obedient face. There’s Wicker Place, this popular neighborhood where street art is more present than dubious offers of dental cares in the parking lots of supermarkets. There’s Big Star on Damen Avenue, its chicken tacos and its pitchers of Margarita that salt the top of your lips and sugar your check. There’s the Myopic bookshop on Milwaukee Avenue, with its green front window, where each second-hand book is a treasure to discover.

Today, when someone tells me “I’m from Chicago”, I imagine him as a huskier version of Eminem, keeping his gun between his belt and his jeans but with this extra chance to live in a city where it’s possible to eat Mac & Cheese everyday, to wear a black suit and a pair of Nike Air with any defamer judgment and, above all, to be oneself among the others.

Elisa Routa
Chicago Elisa Routa2 Chicago Elisa Routa3 Chicago Elisa Routa4 Chicago Elisa Routa6 Chicago Elisa Routa7 Chicago Elisa Routa8 Chicago Elisa Routa9 Chicago Elisa Routa10 Chicago Elisa Routa11 Chicago Elisa Routa12

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts

Inspiration

Aventures

Adventure #27 : Les chemises en flanelle de Chicago, USA

La photographe et auteur Elisa Routa tire un portrait aussi original qu'authentique de la troisième plus grande ville des États-Unis.

Quand un mec te dit « Je viens de Chicago », tu t’imagines de suite une version baraquée d’Eminem, le gun coincé entre le jean et la ceinture, des tatouages indescriptibles dans le cou et une obsession exacerbée pour les packs de bières à moins de 5$. Tu visualises un genre de bonhomme qui aurait grandi entre un père violent et une mère toxico, dont le passe­-temps favori serait de regarder « Keeping up with the Kardashian » et de braquer la supérette du coin de la rue pour s’acheter du vin bon marché.

« Il y a une vieille église un peu plus bas, ça vaut vraiment le détour. C’est la plus vieille église du quartier. » Quand on rencontre Joe, on est bien loin des gangsters de mauvaise famille, une larme à l’encre bleu incrustée sous l’oeil. On se retrouve nez à nez avec la bienveillance, qualité inconcevable après un séjour de courte durée à l’aéroport de Paris Charles-de-Gaulle, où il est plus courant de se faire piétiner et insulter que de prendre l’avion. La vieille église en question ressemble à un assemblage minutieux de plaques de polystyrène qu’on trouve généralement dans les cartons d’appareils électroménagers à l’état neuf. Elle est presque aussi vieille que mon arrière grand­-mère, soit excessivement jeune quand on sait que la moindre cathédrale Française date, au minimum, du 13ème siècle.

Chicago Elisa Routa1Bref, Joe a autant de ressemblances avec un gangster hispanique dans Les Experts que de connaissances en Histoire. Il n’a ni pantalon en bas des fesses, ni sur­-chemise oversize en flanelle sur le dos. Joe, c’est le
gérant du « Sunny Side Up », sur Superior Street, un café en bordure de rue où les tables jouent du coude sur le trottoir ombragé. Regarder les gens vivre à Chicago revient à mater une série américaine en 3D, avec le son en ultra définition sans le mec de derrière qui donne des coups de pied dans ton fauteuil en moquette rouge.

En posant le pied dans la capitale de l’Illinois, je n’avais aucune attente particulière, si ce n’est celle de manger la même pizza que dans les publicités à la pause des émissions culinaires. Epaisse et grasse, dont les filets de fromage fondu sont plus indigestes qu’un cheveu dans une soupe. Premier dîner sur Clark Street : j’opte pour des Mac & Cheese aux champignons. Leur côté rondouillard est irrésistible et la lourdeur du plat m’évitera sans doute de m’envoler au gré des rafales de vent de la ‘Windy City’. « Yeaaaaaaaaaaah! » Une voix dissipée, très forte et à la fois très aiguë se fait entendre au Mickey’s Bar, de l’autre côté de la rue. C’est la manière pour ce groupe de jeunes américaines d’appréhender un samedi soir. Sans élégance ni discrétion. Elles s’agrippent à leur carafe de bière comme on tient un enfant par la main, avec la crainte qu’on nous le vole. Leur carafe se vide à chaque vif sursaut et éclabousse leurs tee-­shirts, raccourcis pour l’occasion, à l’effigie des Chicago Bears… « Déchirée mais sexy » est sans doute un dicton universel propre à la gente féminine. Les yeux rivés sur les écrans géants qui retransmettent le match de football américain, les adolescentes surexcitées mettent l’ambiance dans un quartier de la ville qui n’est pas prêt de s’endormir.

Chicago Elisa Routa5Je me souviens de cette lumière déjà diffuse entre les rues de la grande ville à 6h du matin, comme un exquis signal d’alarme plus doux qu’une caresse sur la joue. Les jeux de lumière sur les vitres immenses des bâtiments en verre sont un spectacle aussi dansant qu’une mer houleuse. Il y a des ombres au sol qui vacillent entre les voitures et les bus comme un jeu d’enfants imprudents. Il y a aussi les mouettes au ­dessus de l’interminable lac Michigan qui te rappellent que tu es finalement chez toi partout. Il y a ces taxis pressés dont le klaxon résonne sous ces ponts de fer jaunes pâles, rendant l’ambiance soudainement plus excitante. Il y a Lincoln Park où les léopards et les chimpanzés du zoo côtoient les hommes d’affaires gominés en costard-­tennis. Il y a l’imperturbable Chicago River qui divise paisiblement en deux le centre ville, comme un cheveu sur un visage, docile, obéissant. Il y a Wicker Place, ce quartier populaire où le street art est plus présent que les offres douteuses de soins dentaires sur les parkings de supermarché. Il y a le Big Star sur Damen Avenue, ses tacos au poulet et ses pichets de Margarita qui salent le haut des lèvres et sucrent une addition. Il y a la librairie Myopic sur Milwaukee Avenue, à la devanture verte, où chaque bouquin d’occasion est un trésor à découvrir.

Alors aujourd’hui, quand un mec me dit « Je viens de Chicago », je l’imagine en version plus baraquée d’Eminem, le gun coincé entre le jean et la ceinture mais avec cette chance supplémentaire de vivre là où il est à la fois possible de manger des Mac & Cheese tous les jours de la semaine, de porter un deux-pièces noir avec des Nike Air sans jugement diffamateur et d’être avant ­tout soi-­même parmi les autres.

Elisa Routa
Chicago Elisa Routa2 Chicago Elisa Routa3 Chicago Elisa Routa4 Chicago Elisa Routa6 Chicago Elisa Routa7 Chicago Elisa Routa8 Chicago Elisa Routa9 Chicago Elisa Routa10 Chicago Elisa Routa11 Chicago Elisa Routa12

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...