Cool Camping in les Vosges, France

The story of a week-end spent without a roadmap aboard our moving shelter. Originally published in Les Others Magazine Volume II : The Hidden Issue.

F
irst and foremost, it was a weekend away with friends. The kind you only half plan, forgetting your toothbrush and taking only your canvas shoes, damp from beginning to end. The kind that leaves a smell of firewood on your clothes and where a breakdown is inevitable, your attention much more focused on your driver’s enthusiastic stories than on the fuel gauge. We only had one certainty; we wanted to climb, once again, the Auvergne volcanoes, neglected since the time of childhood school outings.

But what we weren’t counting on was meeting, a week before our departure, a young man with a carrying voice. The kind capable of telling hour-long stories, standing on a bar table, to an attentive and beaming assembly. That day, his story was about his childhood country, where he grew up and ultimately regretted leaving, the Vosges. After having detailed at length how he had cut open his leg with his bike’s crankset coming home from the bakers the day before his 8th birthday, he enumerated the characteristics that made his ‘French Canada’, as he kept calling it, a wonderful place – dense forests populated by Europe’s highest spruces, numerous lakes, each one more majestic than the other, and protected valleys where cows graze in peace.

cool-camping-wevan-5

Even though regional patriotism offers very little valuable information on account of its poor objectivity, this guy managed to convince us. All the more since none of us had ever set foot over there. Our weekend had abruptly changed with our itinerary, and it was becoming far more interesting. The unknown presented itself to us in many different forms. First, we were going to discover a brand new place, but also, and above all, the trip we had initially planned would make room for the hazards of discovery, and for the uncertainty of a near future where anything could happen.

After having filled our trunk with supplies to last three days, and entered our destination in our GPS, the dice were cast. Our future was no longer in our hands and, by definition, we no longer had to worry about it. Peacefully, we let ourselves be led by the soft feminine voice emanating from the dashboard, across the roads sinuating through the hazy mountains and embracing the thick fir trees. Those trees revealed a remarkable particularity. No signal could get through them, forcing us to completely disconnect, for our greater good. We arrived at Longemer Lake at nighttime and, after having walked around it, we chose to go down a dirt track, which invited us to settle down, shielded from the world, in the very depths of the woods.

At dawn, before the sunrays managed to peep through, the calm of the forest morphed into a galloping symphony. Its inhabitants awoke, whistled, sang in unison, like an orchestral formation with a thousand instruments impossible to identify. We slipped on our heavy jumpers, downed mugs of steaming coffee, and we were off again. For the next two days, we lived to the rhythm of our most primary needs. A stroll down a stream, a basic campsite, a few clinking beers and pork chops from a regional producer grilling on a log fire. That was it, our definition of ‘cool camping’. A simple adventure, frank and sincere, in which you jump with both feet.

‘Happiness is sometimes hidden in the unknown’, as Victor Hugo used to say. Why not go to meet it? Why not give in to the intoxication of fate more often? Why does living in the simplest of ways propel us above everything else? Are ephemeral moments necessarily the most powerful? So many questions that would remain unanswered. We hit the road again in silence, as if to take advantage of one very last moment of reflection. ‘You have arrived’. And the GPS brutally brought us back to reality.

cool-camping-wevan-10  cool-camping-wevan-2

cool-camping-wevan-9

cool-camping-wevan-6

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...

Latest Posts

Inspiration

Aventures

We-Van Adventure #39 : Cool Camping, France

Récit d’un week-end sans feuille de route à bord de notre refuge mobile.
Story extraite de Les Others Magazine Volume II : The Hidden Issue.

A
vant tout, c’était un week-end entre copains. De ceux que l’on ne prévoit qu’à moitié, en oubliant sa brosse à dents et en emportant des chaussures en toile, humides du départ à l’arrivée. De ceux qui laissent une odeur de feu de bois sur nos vêtements et où la panne est inévitable, notre attention étant bien plus portée sur les histoires enthousiastes du conducteur que sur le niveau d’essence. Une seule certitude, nous voulions gravir à nouveau les volcans d’Auvergne, délaissés depuis les sorties scolaires de notre enfance.

C’était sans compter sur la rencontre, une semaine avant le départ, d’un jeune homme à la voix portante. Du genre capable de raconter des histoires d’une heure, debout sur une table de bar, à une assemblée attentive et hilare. Ce jour-là, son récit concernait le pays de son enfance, où il avait grandi et qu’il avait regretté, finalement, de devoir quitter : Les Vosges. Après avoir longuement détaillé comment il s’était ouvert la jambe avec le pédalier de son vélo sur le retour de la boulangerie la veille de ses 8 ans, il énumérait les caractéristiques qui faisaient de son “petit Canada”, comme il ne cessait de l’appeler, un endroit merveilleux : de denses forêts peuplées des plus hauts épicéas d’Europe, de nombreux lacs plus majestueux les uns que les autres et des vallées préservées où les vaches ruminent en paix.

cool-camping-wevan-5

Si le patriotisme régional n’offre en général que peu d’informations valables du fait de sa faible objectivité, ce mec nous avait convaincus. D’autant plus qu’aucun de nous n’avait jamais mis les pieds là-bas. Notre week-end venait de changer brusquement avec notre itinéraire, et il devenait nettement plus intéressant. L’inconnu se présentait à nous sous plusieurs formes. D’abord, nous allions découvrir un endroit que nous ne connaissions pas, mais aussi et surtout, le voyage initialement prévu allait laisser place aux aléas, à la douce incertitude d’un futur proche où tout peut arriver.

Après avoir rempli le coffre de provisions pour trois jours et entré le nom de notre destination dans le GPS, les dés étaient jetés. Notre avenir ne nous appartenait plus et, par définition, nous n’avions plus besoin de nous en préoccuper. Tranquillement, nous nous laissions guider par la douce voix féminine s’échappant du tableau de bord, à travers les routes qui serpentent dans les montagnes brumeuses et enlacent les épaisses forêts de sapins. Ces dernières présentent d’ailleurs une particularité remarquable, celle de ne laisser passer aucun signal, forçant la déconnexion complète pour le plus grand bien de tous. Nous sommes arrivés de nuit au lac de Longemer et, après en avoir fait le tour complet, nous avons emprunté un chemin de terre nous invitant à nous installer à l’abri du monde, au plus profond des bois.

Au petit matin, avant que le soleil ne pointe l’once d’un rayon, le calme de la forêt se mue progressivement en une symphonie galopante. Ses habitants s’éveillent, sifflent et chantent en cœur, telle une formation orchestrale aux 1000 instruments qu’il serait impossible d’identifier. On enfile un gros pull, avale une tasse de café fumant attrapée sur le réchaud, et nous voilà repartis. Pendant les deux jours suivants, nous n’avons vécu qu’en fonction de nos besoins les plus primaires. Une balade le long d’un ruisseau, un campement sommaire, quelques bières qui s’entrechoquent et les côtes de porc d’un petit producteur régional qui grillent sur un feu de bois. C’était ça, notre définition du “cool camping”. Une aventure simple, franche et sincère, dans laquelle on saute à pieds joints.

“Le bonheur est parfois caché dans l’inconnu” disait Victor Hugo. Pourquoi ne pas aller à sa rencontre ? Pourquoi ne pas céder à l’ivresse du hasard plus souvent ? Pourquoi vivre de la plus simple des manières nous propulse-t-il au dessus de tout ? Les moments les plus éphémères sont-ils nécessairement les plus forts ? Autant de questions qui restaient pour le moment en suspens. Nous avons repris la route en silence, comme pour profiter d’un dernier moment de réflexion. “Vous êtes arrivés”. Le GPS, lui, nous ramenait brutalement à la réalité.

cool-camping-wevan-10       cool-camping-wevan-2

cool-camping-wevan-9

Photos : Mathieu Maury

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...