Coast to coast, Panama

One is wild, the other is sulfurous. Follow Baptiste Picard-Deyme, your guide for this expedition along the Panamanian coasts.

The Caribbean sea on one side, the Pacific ocean on the other. Two coasts, two oceans, different dialects and different atmospheres. Each one of them has its own singularity. Get on board for a Panamanian coast-to-coast trip.

Panama_Coast_A4

Panama_Coast_A12

Panama_Coast_A7

Panama_Coast_A6

Panama_Coast_A11

After a few hours bus drive travelling from the capital, we take a first stop at Anton station, a small village crossed by the Pan-American, the country’s main artery. Here the young people of the village fix backpacks on top of buses after school for a few balboas. Our first step is located at the tip of Veraguas peninsula. The change of scene and atmosphere is radical : the pace is peaceful, far from the urban tumult of the city. Once outside of the jungle and while reaching coast, we are entering a small village called Santa Catalina. Back in the days, the narcos from the sea wind used to meet at Santa’s beaches. Today, though the climate has “calmed down”, the region still offers that atypical atmosphere.

A few hundred yards away from Coiba National Park and its 38 heavenly coral islands where turtles, sharks and rays exist side by side, this small fisherman hamlet was discovered later in life by a few occidental surfers, most of whom never left it. This being the case of Julien, our host, a gifted Basque longboarder who doesn’t miss his hometown Bilbao and the Bay of Biscay at all. In the morning, we are awaken by the muffled sound of mangos striking the ground of our shack’s terrace. Later, the sound of the waves will sooth our nights.

Panama_Coast_A17

Panama_Coast_A26

Panama_Coast_A16

Panama_Coast_17

For its parts, Bocas del Toro archipelago is the most Caribbean of the regions of Panama. Upon arriving at Isla Colon, capital of the province,  you fall in love with the long enfilades of colorful houses. Yellow, green, blue, red, there’s one for everyone’s taste. Explorations by pirogues in the heart of the mangrove, hostels on stilts, delicious sea food and local rums degustation, we couldn’t have dreamed better of this Venice from Antilles.

Panama_Coast_A28

Panama_Coast_A21

Panama_Coast_A23

Panama_Coast_A30

Panama_Coast_A10

Panama_Coast_A20

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts

Inspiration

Aventures

Adventure #30 : Coast to coast, Panama

L'une sauvage, l'autre sulfureuse. Suivez Baptiste Picard-Deyme, votre guide pour une expédition le long des cotes panaméennes.

La mer des Caraïbes d’un côté, l’océan Pacifique de l’autre. Deux cotes, deux océans, des dialectes et atmosphères si différentes : une singularité propre à chacune. Embarquez pour un coast-to-coast panaméen.

Panama_Coast_A4

Panama_Coast_A12

Panama_Coast_A7

Panama_Coast_A6

Après quelques heures de car depuis la capitale, notre premier arrêt se situe à la gare routière d’Antón, un petit village traversé par la panaméricaine, principale artère du pays. Ici, après l’école, les jeunes du village fixent les sacs à dos sur le toit des bus pour quelques balboas (la monnaie locale). Plus tard, nous arrivons  à la pointe de la péninsule de Veraguas, notre première destination. Le changement de décor et d’ambiance est radical : le rythme est paisible, bien loin du tumulte urbain de la city. Une fois sorti de la jungle et la cote atteinte, nous pénétrons dans le petit village de Santa Catalina. Dans un autre temps, c’est sur les plages de Santa’ que les narcos venus du large se donnaient rendez-vous. Aujourd’hui, si le climat s’est assagi, la région offre toujours cette atmosphère atypique.

Panama_Coast_A11

A quelques encablures du parc national de Coiba et ses 38 îlots coralliens paradisiaques où se côtoient tortues, requins et raies, ce petit hameau de pêcheurs fut découvert sur le tard par quelques surfeurs occidentaux, qui, pour la plupart ne sont jamais reparti. C’est notamment le cas de Julen, notre hôte, un talentueux longboarder basque qui ne regrette, mais alors vraiment pas, sa natale Bilbao et le golf de Gascogne. Le matin, le bruit sourd des mangues percutant la terrasse de notre cabanon nous réveille, quand, plus tard, celui des vagues berce nos nuits.

Panama_Coast_A17

Panama_Coast_A26

Panama_Coast_A16

Panama_Coast_17

De son côté, l’archipel de Bocas del Toro constitue la plus caribéenne des régions du Panama. En arrivant sur Isla Colon, capitale de la province, on tombe tout de suite sous le charme des longues enfilades de maisons colorés. Jaune, vert, bleu, rouge, il y en a pour tous les goûts. Entre les explorations en pirogue au coeur de la mangrove, les petites auberges sur pilotis, les délicieux plats de sea food et la dégustation de rhum régional, nous n’aurions pas pu espérer mieux de cette véritable Venise des Antilles.

Panama_Coast_A28

Panama_Coast_A21

Panama_Coast_A23

Panama_Coast_A30

Panama_Coast_A10

Panama_Coast_A20

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...