Chiriqui Eldorado, Panama

Des forêts luxuriantes de Boquete jusqu'au toit du Panama, prenez de la hauteur avec Baptiste Picard-Deyme.

An authentic yellow bus, similar as those you can find all over the country, is waiting for us on the main place, just a few steps from the Parque Domingo Medica. It is time for us to leave Boquete, its coffee plantations next to its lush and vast forests. Despite its imposing mass and the weight of the years on the clock, this clunker passes through the jungle with the agility of a feline.

Panama_Bqte_16

If you hoped you’d visit the area, a few days off in the bag and a cup of coffee in the hand, you are wrong: this morning, I can’t feel my legs anymore. I’m not even able to climb the three steps separating the asphalt from the bus door. Recent days were all hikes and daily explorations, to the point where the surroundings of this small Northern town have no more secrets for us. From the waters of the Rio Caldera to the fresh Joguata water falls through the Baru volcano and its 3474 meters of altitude, we’ve been all the way down. Not to forget the highest point of the Talamanca mountains, also known as Panama’s rooftop, from where – after twelve long hours of walking, half at night – you can contemplate the sunrise from both over the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean.

If settlers initially came for gold, it turns out nowadays that revenues come from a completely different commodity. The region is world famous for its top range coffee. This arabica, grown for generations in the highlands of the Chiriqui province, is still riding the wave of success. Great coffee is to Boquete what pure champagne is to Reims, France. It is moreover consumed in jeroboams as well: on the other side of the planet, on the Asian market, where the geisha bag goes at indecent prices.

One thing is sure: if the sublime and fertile lands of Chiriqui are the coffee farmers’ paradise, they’re also one of the greatest place to visit as a traveler, backpacker or hiker in search of a fair dose of exploration and gravel path.

Panama_Bqte_10

 

Panama_Bqte_1

 

Panama_Bqte_11

 

Panama_Bqte_12

 

Panama_Bqte_14

 

Panama_Bqte_15

 

Panama_Bqte_6

 

Panama_Bqte_9

 

Panama_Bqte_17

 

Panama_Bqte_4

 

Panama_Bqte_5

 

Panama_Bqte_13

 

Panama_Bqte_3

 

Panama_Bqte_7

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts

Inspiration

Aventures

Adventure #31 : Chiriqui Eldorado, Panama

Des forêts luxuriantes de Boquete jusqu'au toit du Panama, prenez de la hauteur avec Baptiste Picard-Deyme.

Un traditionnel bus jaune comme il en existe un peu partout dans le pays nous attend sur la place du village, là, à quelques pas du Parque Domingo Médica. Il est temps pour nous de quitter Boquete, ses plantations de café et ses vastes forêts luxuriantes. Malgré sa masse imposante et le poids des années au compteur, ce tas de ferraille transperce la jungle avec l’agilité d’un félin.

Panama_Bqte_16

Si vous espérez visiter la région et prendre quelques jours de repos une tasse de café à la main vous vous méprenez : ce matin, j’en ai plein les jambes. Je n’arrive même plus à monter les trois marches qui séparent l’asphalte de la porte du bus. Randonnées et explorations quotidiennes ont eu raison de nos guiboles ces derniers jours. Les environs de cette petite bourgade du nord du pays n’ont désormais guère de secret pour nous. Des eaux vives du rio Caldera aux fraîches cascades de Joguata en passant par le volcan Barú et ses 3474 mètres d’altitude. Le point culminant de la cordillère de Talamanca et toit du Panama à partir duquel on peut observer le lever de soleil sur la mer des Caraïbes et l’océan Pacifique, après douze longues heures de marche, dont la moitié en pleine nuit.

Si les colons étaient initialement venus chercher de l’or dans les environs, il s’avère que la richesse provient d’une autre denrée : la région est mondialement connue pour son café hors de prix. Aujourd’hui, l’arabica cultivé dans les hautes terres de la province Chiriqui surfe sur la vague du succès. Le café est à Boquete ce que le champagne est à Reims. D’ailleurs, lui aussi se boit dans des jéroboams : de l’autre côté de la planète, sur le marché asiatique, là où le sac de geisha s’arrache à des prix indécents.

Une chose est sûre, si les fertiles et sublimes terres de Chiriqui sont l’eldorado pour les cultivateurs de café, elles le sont aussi pour tout voyageurs, backpackers ou randonneurs en quête de d’explorations et de chemin caillouteux.

Panama_Bqte_10

 

Panama_Bqte_1

 

Panama_Bqte_11

 

Panama_Bqte_12

 

Panama_Bqte_14

 

Panama_Bqte_15

 

Panama_Bqte_6

 

Panama_Bqte_9

 

Panama_Bqte_17

 

Panama_Bqte_4

 

Panama_Bqte_5

 

Panama_Bqte_13

 

Panama_Bqte_3

 

Panama_Bqte_7

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

NE MANQUEZ RIEN !

Un bon bol d'air frais et de créativité, 
une fois par semaine 
dans votre boîte mail


MERCI BEAUCOUP !

Et à très vite...